Winter Training

My custom running stats confus-o-gram.  The important part on each panel is the thick white line showing 2015 compared to previous years.  This graph is more motivating than I like to admit.

My custom running stats confus-o-gram. The important part on each panel is the thick white line showing 2015 compared to previous years. This graph is more motivating than I like to admit.

It’s been pretty quiet around here for the last few months.  You might think I’ve been doing nothing in particular, but the truth is I’ve been training (relatively speaking) like a fiend and been super-busy besides.  Twelve weeks ago I officially started my training plan for the Bighorn 100, my first hundred mile race and what probably counts as my (first?) mid-life crisis. In effect, the last couple months of 2014 were unofficial training as well, but the spreadsheet and weekly mileage goals started in the last days of December.  Here we are with three months down, half-way through a 24-week program outlined by Bryon Powell in his Relentless Forward Progress book.

The training has been beset with various problems here and there – weather, minor injuries, travel, and other forced-rest days or weeks, but things have been going well.  I’ve had to move some things around and I haven’t always gotten the mid-week miles in where they were supposed to be (or at all sometimes), but the big weekend runs are mostly intact, but that sort of thing is all part of the plan.  Those of us with lives, jobs, families have to put training third at best.  I do what I can and sneak my increasingly-time-consuming training in where it (mostly) fits.

So far, so good.  Each month has brought 50-100% more mileage than typical for that month in other years and I feel lean, fit, and fast.  Honestly, it’s addictive as hell to feel this good in my mid-40s, aside from the creaky feeling first thing in the morning.  Is it enough to run for 30+ hours? I don’t know. Certainly not yet, but I can see where it might be in another three months.

Fitness and goals aside, it’s been a usually-fun adventure tackling something big like this so single-mindedly.  Most importantly, I’ve had some nice times in the outdoors both with and without fellow runners. Here are a few of the highlights.

Whether or not I cross the line in Dayton on June 20th, I certainly will cross the line in Tongue Canyon on the 19th in as close to my top physical and mental form as I can manage.

This entry was posted in exploration, night, retrospective, running, solo, winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Training

  1. Shad says:

    Good work! Dude I don’t have a PHD to read those graphs!

Leave a Reply

