Moonlight and Microspikes

Milling about on the summit while I dork around with the camera.

Milling about on the summit while I dork around with the camera.

It’s been a snowier-than-average winter so far and, while this is good for the skiing now and the fire danger later, it’s made trail running a very muddy affair.  The Mesa Trail, axis mundi of the Boulder trail scene, is a sloppy disaster that almost (almost!) makes pavement running seem like a reasonable choice.  The only options for minimal-mud running are either flat gravel paths east of the mountains or getting up high where there is more snow and less mud… at least so far.

Flatirons and Orion, two friends I don't get to spend enough time with lately.

Flatirons and Orion, two friends I don’t get to spend enough time with lately.

So, up we went.  Our weekly Boulder Trail Runners Night Run went a little bigger than usual heading up Green Mountain from Chautauqua via Gregory Canyon… and it was really spectacular.  I don’t normally carry a camera and tripod on these events, but I’m glad I did in this occasion.  Full moon, snow-packed trails up high, city lights below, and bobsled-worthy ice in spots.

Have I mentioned how much I love my Kahtoola Microspikes?  All eight of us were equipped with these or similar and they certainly saved us from grievous bodily injury on multiple occasions.  I wish I could somehow convey the joy of bombing down steep, technical, ice-covered trails under a brilliant moon and crystal-clear skies and a constant crunchy-crunchy-crunchy sound as your spikes bite into the ground.  Certainly better than last week’s butt-sliding Sanitas misadventures!

7.1 miles in a fairly leisurely 2 hours with 2500’ of elevation gain.

This entry was posted in night, peak, running, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

