2013 Year in Review

Last year I set myself some goals… and none of them actually happened.  I came close, but, well, life happened.

Finally, some good views!  Gibraltar, Middle and Little No-Name Peaks (L-R)

Finally, some good views! Gibraltar, Middle and Little No-Name Peaks (L-R)

The running goal was 1000 miles, but I only managed 810 (November/December total: 135 which is pretty good, considering), my third-biggest year to date.  Had it not been for my month-plus of convalescence in June and July and the floods in September, perhaps things would have been different… or perhaps not.

Half of the APS All-Stars team.  The other half is already hard at word being more hard-core than we are.

Half of the APS All-Stars team. The other half is already hard at word being more hard-core than we are.

I’d also planned 2000 miles on the bike.  Certainly I rode far more than in any previous year, but still only managed 1160 miles (140 in Nov/Dec).  The goal of ten new summits turned into only seven (though admittedly, after ten years exploring the Front Range, new summits are getting very hard to find!).   I got in a few decent backcountry ski trips, but didn’t ski down any large mountains (or even small mountains) as I’d hoped.

Summit at last.

Summit at last.

Looking past the numbers, it was still a good year from a recreational standpoint.  The high points were definitely a half-dozen really nice trips with good friends, half of them exploring new places and the others revisits to local classics.  There were a number of really sublime, fun runs in the local hills during all conditions, with friends and solo.  My April streak and early-season ultra were motivation enough in the first half of the year and a stretch of really beautiful late-season weather didn’t provide a White Christmas, but it did let me finish off the year in style and good company.

A late-season run at Walker Ranch with Jason and Kate.

A late-season run at Walker Ranch with Jason and Kate.

What’s next?  Once again, I don’t know what the next year will bring in terms of family and job.  This could be my last year in Colorado, or not.  I don’t want to make any firm plans yet.  Nor am I going to state any particular mileage goals besides saying that 800 miles of running was a nice, comfortable number.  Perhaps I’ll have a goal of 100 km per month which works out to 62 miles/month or 745 per year.  To that I’ll add the nicely-qualitative goals of “some cycling”, “some mountains (new or old)”, and maybe “some climbing” as well.  More definitely, I have plans to take the family on our first winter hut trip, go skiing (front- and backcountry), and lots more camping than we accomplished last summer.

IMG_2531How’s that for 2014 goals?  Sounds good.

Here are some photos from the year’s adventures!

This entry was posted in abroad, biking, exploration, family, peak, race, retrospective, running, skiing, winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013 Year in Review

  1. Stephan says:

    The convenience of being able to switch to the metric system :
    each year of my running life (or at least it seems so for the past 6 years ), I formulate the
    1000 mile goal — and by May, looking at progress, I tend to quietly acknowledge the fact that
    a 1000 km/year is also quite a feat.

    Looking at the graphs you recently posted, you were pretty well on track for the coveted 1000miler — too bad June/July saw you a bit impaired !

    However, I do have to say that whatever mileage may be missing, the scenery you are able to take in during most of your runs totally makes up for that : excellent photos, Charles. Keep’em coming !

    • cdan4th says:

      Indeed, those of us for whom adventure is a third priority at best have to take what we can get, but I’ve managed to take some pretty good stuff this year.

Leave a Reply

